I’m Still Here-A reassuring poem on death

I’M STILL HERE, Author Unknown
Friend, please don’t mourn for me
I’m still here, though you don’t see.
I’m right by your side each night and day
and within your heart I long to stay.

My body is gone but I’m always near.
I’m everything you feel, see or hear.
My spirit is free, but I’ll never depart
as long as you keep me alive in your heart.

I’ll never wander out of your sight-
I’m the brightest star on a summer night.
I’ll never be beyond your reach-
I’m the warm moist sand when you’re at the beach.

I’m the colorful leaves when fall comes around
and the pure white snow that blankets the ground.
I’m the beautiful flowers of which you’re so fond,
The clear cool water in a quiet pond.

I’m the first bright blossom you’ll see in the spring,
The first warm raindrop that April will bring.
I’m the first ray of light when the sun starts to shine,
and you’ll see that the face in the moon is mine.

When you start thinking there’s no one to love you,
you can talk to me through the Lord above you.
I’ll whisper my answer through the leaves on the trees,
and you’ll feel my presence in the soft summer breeze.

I’m the hot salty tears that flow when you weep
and the beautiful dreams that come while you sleep.
I’m the smile you see on a baby’s face.
Just look for me, friend, I’m everyplace.
 

This poem gives me hope. I had suddenly lost a really close friend a little over a year ago and this poem makes me believe there is hope that he is not completely gone. The worst feeling in my opinion about death is the thought of an unexistence. One minute they are somebody and the next they are nobody. One minute they are alive, the next hey are dead. Reading this poem hurts a little though. I start to think about when he was alive, when he really was standing beside me. But then again it helps me remember some of the good times.  One part I took very literal was “My body is gone but I’m always near. I’m everything you feel, see or hear.” The reason I like and choose to take it literally is because he was cremated. So that line I could relate to.

     My favorite lines are “When you start thinking there’s no one to love you, you can talk to me through the Lord above you. I’ll whisper my answer through the leaves on the trees, and you’ll feel my presence in the soft summer breeze.” I like these lines because they are so beautiful, especially the last two lines. I would speak aloud sometimes at night, and feel like answers to my questions were somewhat responded, not by words, but by a feeling. I really like the poem for the hopeful thought that he is everywhere with me. Also it is very uplifting and helpful for people who need it.

Losing someone to death is so hard to overcome that I think it’s poems like this that make us feel better.

3 Comments »

  1. carvingoswego Said:

    First of all, I’m very sorry to hear about your friend. It’s a really tough thing to endure. I hope you’re doing well. Secondly, and less important, I couldn’t agree with you more about this poem. Its a great poem, and the idea of “unexistence” is so far beyond me; that’s always what gets to me most. Like you said though, that hope that is mentioned in this poem of that person watching over you is what really gets us all through deaths, whether we just find the hope in ourselves, from a friend, or from something written. Once that hope is with us, it is a lot easier to overcome the despair.

  2. poetryprof Said:

    I like your post title.

  3. [...]  Jamie’s service was beautiful and so perfectly her.  I read a poem at the end that I found online by Author Unknown.  I changed some of the words to apply to her children, I hope the author of the [...]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

